Team New Zealand at Cricket World Cup

Team New Zealand squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015:

Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Grant Elliot, Trent Boult, Tom Latham, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Kyle Mills, Luke Ronchi (wicket keeper), Tim Southee, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori.

Team New Zealand performances in Cricket World Cups:

New Zealand is such a team who never won a world cup but played six semi-finals! Isn't that another unfortunate team longing to win a world cup? Truly it is! They have played a total of 70 matches in World Cup, won 40, lost 29 and one ended in no result.

In 1975, New Zealand stood second in Group A points tally below the hosts England. Out of the three Group stage matches, New Zealand managed to win two. They registered a huge win against East Africa and defeated India by 4 wickets. Their only Group stage loss came against England at Trent Bridge. Facing the mighty West Indies team in the semi-finals, New Zealand managed just 158 runs batting first. West Indies won with five wickets in hand. They also went on to win the first ever cricket World Cup.

In 1979, New Zealand was a part of Group B and they managed to be on second position under West Indies. Their only Group stage loss came against West Indies. New Zealand faced England in the semi-finals at Old Trafford, Manchester. England scored 221. New Zealand needed 14 runs in the last over. They reached 212/9 and England went on to reach the finals against West Indies.

In 1983, NZ couldn't qualify for the knock outs. Placed in Group A, they played six matches - won three and lost three. 

In 1987, New Zealand produced another dismal performance. Out of six Group matches, they could win just two. Those both wins came against Zimbabwe. Probably the team was waiting to produce a great performance in the next World Cup that was scheduled to be played in Australia and New Zealand.

In 1992, back home New Zealand had a lot to prove. And how well they dominated. They topped the overall points tally of first round. They played eight matches and won seven out of them. Pure dominance! Their only loss was against Pakistan at Lancaster Park, Christchurch. The tournament favourites Pakistan were defeated by Pakistan in the semi-finals. New Zealand scored 262 and Pakistan chased with four wickets in hand. Martin Crowe was a star for the New Zealand team in this edition of Cricket World Cup. He scored 456 runs in nine matches. He was awarded Man of the Series.

In 1996, team finished third in the points tally of Group B. They played Australia in the quarter finals on 11th March 1996. Chris Harris smashed 130 runs from 124 balls to take New Zealand to 286 for nine. In reply, Mark Waugh scored 110 runs to lead Australia to a big win. Another World Cup that ended the dream of New Zealand winning a title.

In 1999, NZ was a part of Group B. Three wins out of five matches took them to the next stage of Super Six! Here they played five and won two. They faced Pakistan in the semi-finals. Batting first, NZ scored 241 for seven. In return Pakistan chased down the total comfortably with a loss of just one wicket. Saeed Anwar with his beautiful cover drives scored 113 not out. 

In 2003, New Zealand played in Pool B and managed to qualify for the Super Six. They couldn't qualify to the further stages as they could win just one out of three matches in the Super Six stage.

In 2007, New Zealand was placed in Group C. They won all three matches of their group and qualified for the Super 8 round. Another brilliant performance from the team, they qualified for the knock out stage. Facing in form Srilanka in the semi-finals; New Zealand bowled first. Srilanka scored 289/5. NZ fell way short scoring just 208 runs - another disappointing exit from the world cup.

In 2011, finished fourth in Group A thus qualifying for the quarter finals. They created a major upset by beating strong South African team in the quarter finals. Batting first they scored 221/8. A spirited bowling performance bowled out South Africa for just 172. Another semi-final with Srilanka with same result. New Zealand were beaten by Srilanka!

As the Cricket World Cup 2015 returns to New Zealand after 23 years; the cricket fans out there will have a lot of hopes from the team. They would be eager to see a repeat of what Martin Crowe and company did in 1992.

By Tejas Thakkar

No comments:

Post a Comment

We welcome your valuable comments and feedbacks.
But no spam comments please!