Team Scotland at Cricket World Cup

Team Scotland squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015:

Preston Mommsen (captain), Richie Berrington, Matthew Cross (wicket keeper), Josh Davey, Alasdair Evans, Hamish Gardiner, Majid Haq, Michael Leask, Kyle Coetzer, Freddie Coleman, Matt Machan, Calum MacLeod, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor, Iain Wardlaw.

Team Scotland's performances in Cricket World Cups:
Scotland wasn't eligible to play in the world cups till 1996. After competing in the ICC Trophy of 1997 they finished third and qualified for the 1999 cricket world cup. This edition was hosted by England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales and Netherlands. Scotland was placed in Group B with the likes of Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies and Bangladesh. Scotland lost all their matches and faced an early exit. In particular, it was Gavin Hamilton who shined in almost all the matches for Scotland. He scored 34 against Australia, 76 against Pakistan with two wickets to his kitty, 63 against Bangladesh and 24 not out against West Indies.

Scotland didn't qualify for the world cups held in 2003 and 2011.
In 2007, Scotland was placed in Group A with South Africa, Netherlands and Australia. Once again Scotland failed to perform. They lost all the three matches.
World Cups haven't brought any glory to team Scotland but a chance to play against the settled cricketing nations like India, Australia, England, South Africa and many more to name is worth an experience.

Scotland has performed better this time by finishing on the top of the Super Six table in the ICC Cricket World Cup qualifier 2014 held in New Zealand. Let us hope they do well this time in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

By Tejas Thakkar

No comments:

Post a Comment

We welcome your valuable comments and feedbacks.
But no spam comments please!